And now for a Super Exciting, Nerve-wracking Life Update

Last time I wrote about my complacency in life and how I wanted to make some changes in my career/ life in general. Well, I’m happy to finally be able to say that…I got a new job and I’m moving to Washington! State, not DC. I always have to clarify that after my little announcement. That’s usually followed by the person saying something along the lines of “Washington State? But that’s SO far! And doesn’t it always rain over there?” I kid you not when I say I hear that every time.

This is a big deal for me. I’ve lived at home or with family in one way or another all my life. I’ve never been away from the comfort and security of family, so packing up and moving across the country is huge. It’s also a big deal for my family, and though I know they’re having a hard time with me moving away, they’re being supportive, which is amazing and I am so grateful to them for that.

I leave New York in 12 days. I gave my two weeks notice at my job last week, and my car is getting picked up and shipped out to Washington today. How the heck I managed to pack up everything in my room in 4 days is honestly beyond me. It is all happening so quickly, and I don’t think it’s really hit me yet, the reality of the move and just everything that comes with it. But I am so excited, despite how nervous and anxious I am as well. It has been such a roller coaster of emotions to say the least. I have a lot to do within the next few days, mostly spending quality time with my family and friends. Now that the packing is out of the way I can focus on that, which is great.

There is going to be some major adjusting to do once I get to Seattle, and let’s not even talk about all the things I’m going to miss from NYC. Seriously let’s not do that, I might start crying again. Yet despite all the feelings that go along with this, I’m relieved and proud of myself for taking this risk and giving myself a chance to do something different. I don’t know how this is going to work out, or if it even will work out at all, but I know that if I didn’t take this opportunity while I had the chance to, I would regret it forever.

So here’s to trying something new and different, and to taking chances.

Leave a Reply

