Another Year Over

I cannot tell you how happy I am to say goodbye to 2014. This year has been the most physically and emotionally challenging year of my life. I’ve been anticipating this day for months now, everything that went wrong this year haunting me constantly, almost making me forget all the amazing things that happened this year.

Yes, this year was difficult as hell and life through me some curve balls that I was not expecting, but despite all of that, I also had some successful moments. I got to travel for work, I made new friends from all over the country (and world, too!) via tumblr, I got my finances mostly in order by learning how to effectively manage my income and budget, I took a calligraphy course I’ve wanted to do for a while now, and I modeled in a special holiday photo shoot for one of my favorite women’s magazine, Verily Magazine. The photo shoot took place in Metropolitan Building in Long Island City, which is where magazines like Vogue and Elle, amongst others, shoot often. It was pretty surreal!

I also saved up enough money for my trip to Europe this coming Spring, a graduation gift to myself. On that note, I am officially eight (eight!!!!!!) weeks away from having my bachelor’s degree. I signed up for the graduation conferral yesterday and I still can’t believe it. None of it feels real. I can’t imagine what life is going to be like once I’m finally done with school, but I’ll climb that wall when I get to it.

Oh, and I learned how to make ribs! I don’t mean to toot my own horn here, but the ribs I make are pretty freaking delicious. I’m quite proud of myself for that! All thanks to the recipe my boss’s wife shared with me. That changed my life. I see a lot of rib-eating in my future.

I realized that when I focus on the good, the bad doesn’t seem so big or relevant any more. I learned from those awful moments, definitely, but I also have to learn how to move on and learn from my mistakes and the mistakes of others, that way I can have more time and energy to focus on the amazing reality that is life. Not every moment is going to be great, but that’s life.

I am not one for resolutions. I refuse to give into the hype of making a promise to myself only to give up within 6 weeks. It’s just setting myself up for disappointment; but I do like making a general list of what I would like to do throughout the entire new year, and if i get to it, great! But if I don’t, there’s always next year. I don’t know what 2015 has in store for me. To be honest, I’m a little nervous about it. There’s a lot of change coming up, and thinking about it freaks me out. I do know one thing though, thanks to the love and support of my family and friends, I made it through this year, so I can make it through whatever the following year plans on throwing my way.

I should probably update this blog more, I’m clearly lousy at that. But I refuse to say I’m going to do it on a regular basis: that never works for me! I wish you all a very happy and healthy New Year filled with love, laughter and lots of wine. Thank you for following along with me and listening to my ramblings. Y’all are the bees knees!

P.S. You can see the holiday photo shoot I was fortunate to be a part of here: http://verilymag.com/holiday-party-wear-style-trends-winter-2014/ 

One thought on “Another Year Over

  1. Great post! Our trip will be here in no time and I am SO EXCITED!! It’s great that it’ll be your graduation present to yourself! Also, that magazine shoot is fantastic. So jealous!

Leave a Reply

