Small Moments: Purchases

As noted here, I’ve been trying to get my budget under control. With this goal and my weekly budget restrictions in mind, I make sure everything that I buy now will be worth it. I research, compare, and if I need a little extra cash for it, I save some money from the week before to make up for it. All this prepping has helped me make two purchases within the last month that I am really satisfied with.

1) John Frieda JF2 Salon Shine Hair Dryer

About a year ago, I stopped straightening my hair with the wet flat iron and learned how to use a blow dryer. I’m still not a pro and have to turn to my trusty CHI flat iron the next day to do fix the frizz situation, but I was just using an old blow dryer I found in the bathroom cabinet. I also started getting lazy and going to a DryBar to get my hair done each week, and needless to say, this was not helping my budgeting efforts at all. After a few days of comparing and hesitating, I decided to purchase this blow dryer. I was leaning toward a more expensive, fancy blow dryer, but I’m so glad I didn’t go with one of those, as the reviews with this one and the fancy ones were pretty much the same. This blow dryer is not perfect, but even for a beginner like me, it works really well.

2) Naked2 Basics Eye Shadow Palette

My next favorite purchase was this eye shadow palette. I’ve wanted a Naked palette for a while now, but hesitated against buying it because of the price, and I really didn’t need another palette with multiple colors since I already have others that I don’t use enough as it is. However, this palette is perfection. I use it almost every day now. The colors are nice and neutral, yet can be used to make more dramatic, smoky looks, making it the perfect combination for traveling. With all the traveling I’ve done and will be doing in the future, it doesn’t get any better than that. It is beautiful, and I am totally in love with it.

The best thing about these purchases though: they were both less than $30. It may seem trivial, but making purchases that I feel so good about such as these give me a sense of accomplishment, and remind me that I don’t have to spend $100+ on something just for it to be good quality. Good things come in small packages (or in this case, prices), too! So these are my small moments for this week. I know I’ll have both of these purchases for a while and will get the most out of them both, so that makes it all the better.

Leave a Reply

