Busy Bee

A few months ago, I was looking for and applying for a new job, but after a few weeks of unanswered emails and applications, I decided to give up, and just stay where I am. Here’s the thing: I like my job. I enjoy working here, I get along well with my coworkers, and the hours are flexible, which is awesome. Only problem with this job is that the commute is an hour and a half to and from my house. That’s three hours of travel a day. I have to take the subway and the Metro North train, so the commute is not only long, it is also incredibly expensive. This was really the only reason why I wanted to find a new job, and now that I look back on the time I spent job searching, I’m glad I did not get a call back from any of the other places.

Why? Because about a month ago now, as I was walking around the garden behind the Smithsonian Natural History Museum, I got a text message from a mother looking for a babysitter. Turns out she had gotten my number from a mother I occasionally babysit for, and she was in need of a part-time babysitter for her 2-year-old son. Long story short, I accepted her job offer, started working for her 2 weeks later, and learned a lesson about patience and timing.

So now, thanks to the hour flexibility, I’m working 35-40 hours at the office, and babysitting for 12. This is my third week, and so far, it hasn’t been so bad. It is a lot of work though. I am out of my house by 6 a.m. and don’t get home till after 7 p.m. There’s that and then there’s also the homework I have to do every day for my online courses. To be frank, I am exhausted. All the time. There is no such thing as too much coffee in my agenda now. I sleep any chance I can get, doesn’t matter where I am. The hum of the moving train is very soothing, let me tell you.

Truthfully, I might be biting off more than I can chew here. But even though I have more on my plate than ever before, I feel content. I feel the most accomplished when I’m busy, so this works perfectly for me. Sure, sometimes I wonder what is wrong with me that I feel the need to put myself through all of this trouble, but that’s usually at 5:30 when my alarm clock goes off and the sun isn’t even out yet. I do have to figure out a better sleeping schedule though. This 5-hours-of-sleep-per-night thing is not cutting it for me. But I know myself, so I won’t even bother to say that I’m going to try to go to bed by 10:30 because Lord knows that is not going to happen. For now, I have coffee by day, and wine by night. That’s good enough, right? Yes, yes it is.

Leave a Reply

