Recipe Successes

The weather in New York has been surprisingly pleasant and Autumn-like lately, especially for August. I love it! With Fall weather comes the ability to do one of my favorite things without hearing my father complain about it being too hot to turn on the oven…baking! I love baking, and cooking in general.

So on Sunday, I woke up early and made homemade crepes for my sister, brother-in-law and myself. I used this recipe that I found on Pinterest. I filled it with strawberries, blueberries, and cream cheese. To a sweeter twist to the cream cheese, I added a drop of vanilla extract. I then topped the crepes off with maple syrup and powdered sugar. The great thing about crepes is that you can literally fill it up with anything you want, eggs, cheeses, fruits, meats…and voila- you have breakfast!

We had guests over for dinner that evening, and I whipped up a batch of chocolate chip cookies. Nothing fancy, I just used a basic but reliable recipe. No need for Pinterest this time, though I do want to try one of the many interesting recipes for chocolate chip cookies on there!

And lastly, I made these power muffins. They’re called power muffins because they’re made with blueberries, oatmeal, and greek yogurt, which equals power! I’ve been trying to cut back on my expenses (I’ll write about that at another time), so I decided to make these muffins for breakfast this week instead of buying breakfast each day. I did things a little differently from the recipe, though. I didn’t have honey Greek yogurt, just blueberry Greek yogurt (go figure, huh?), so I used that instead and added two tablespoons of raw honey. Not surprisingly, with the yogurt and the fresh blueberries, my muffins came out completely blueish/purple. They looked so weird! But they tasted pretty amazing, so the color was irrelevant. And I have breakfast for the rest of the week- yippee! Oh yeah, I found this recipe on Pinterest, too. Yay, Pinterest!

I forgot to take pictures of the finished products, especially the crepes because I was just so darn hungry and capturing that moment was the last thing on my mind, but I think you can get the idea of what it should look like from the recipes.

So, three recipes in one day? You can say that I had a pretty busy Sunday in the kitchen, but I’d say it was a success! 🙂 

P.S. You can follow me on Pinterest here. Happy pinning! 

Leave a Reply

