Ever-So-Temporary Model Status

Friends are great for so many different reasons. Each one has a talent (or talents), and sometimes, these talents need some fine-tuning, some practicing. That’s where the true value of friendship comes in- when you can somehow help a friend perfect their talent, whether it’s by letting them try out a new hairstyle on you (or cutting your hair, even…that takes some serious trust!) or by posing for their photography portfolio. I’ve done both, and I love being able to do so. There’s a certain feeling that comes along with helping someone work on their passion. It’s like you’re making them stronger, closer to what they want to be, and that is awesome!

Yesterday, I posed for my good friend and amazing photographer, Becca. She’s also an amazing artist. Seriously, her work blows me away! We’ve done photo shoots before, in all the seasons except summer, so we decided to do a summer photo shoot but with a different vibe than usual this time. All our previous photo shoots were kind of “happy, go-lucky”-like. This time, we wanted to be more artsy and try something new. So we did! Instead of shooting in her yard, we grabbed a wooden bar seat and went to an open field in her neighborhood. The focus wasn’t so much on smiling, but on other expressions.
becca1

becca2

It was a bit hard to stay focused and not laugh all the time at how silly I felt striking all those poses, but it was so much fun to try something new. I felt like a real-deal model. And I am really impressed with how the pictures turned out! 

Fun fact 1: I always straighten my hair because I could never really deal with managing my natural curly hair, but I’ve finally decided to stop fighting nature and just embrace it, and I’m so glad I did. I feel a lot more confident with my hair, and I’m always getting compliments on it now, which is a nice bonus, hehe πŸ™‚

Fun fact 2: Becca is my boyfriend’s sister. It’s always nice to have a super talented photographer in the family πŸ˜‰

 

Leave a Reply

