Dusting Myself Off

April and May were really difficult months and I am so glad May is finally over. I’m looking forward to June and have decided that despite the struggles of the last two months, only I can make the conscious decision to get over it. So that’s what I’m doing. I could sit here and say that I’m going to work out every day, eat healthy, cut back on junk food, spend less time online, but that’s not my plan. Not for now anyway. For now, I want to focus on getting rid of the negativity within me, as well as around me. This will be difficult because first and foremost, I hate confrontation and would rather keep something that is bothering me to myself instead of facing it head first, but if that’s what it’s going to take to start anew, then that’s what I’m going to do. Only I can make myself happy, or allow others to make me happy. I can, however, easily give others the power to bring me down and I’ve done so in the past one too many times, so enough of that. I think it’s time for me to pick myself up and dust myself off. Fortunately, despite all the challenges and difficulties experienced, I have a supportive boyfriend beside me (metaphorically speaking, for now; darn long distance relationship stuff). Being apart only adds to our challenges, but the way I see it now is, if there is no hurdle to jump over, what is the point of the reward? This distance thing is only temporary. But I’m not focusing on that. For now, I’m just focusing on the here and now, and making sure that I make it to my destination. It’s quite the journey, but I know that with the support of J and all those who love me, I will make to where I want to me. 

Leave a Reply

