Can You Visit This Weekend?

It’s been a month since I went to visit J after his graduation from Navy boot camp. Throughout this month, we’ve spent a lot of time trying to figure out when we’ll be able to see each other again. Being in a long distance relationship is not easy. There are times when all I want is to spend some time doing nothing with J, like we used to, but I can’t because he’s so far away. And it’s fine because fortunately, we live in 2014 and things like Skype and Facetime exist! We don’t get to talk much during the week, since his schedule is so hectic and he has to go to bed early, but we are able to talk on weekends, which has been great.

I honestly was not expecting to be able to talk to him as much as I do. It’s been a blessing, one that I’m enjoying now as much as I can. Lord knows it probably won’t last once he really gets started on his intense training!

One thing I’ve learned from our distance so far is how important honesty and trust are. Communication is key, but it doesn’t mean anything if we’re not really communicating with each other about the important things and being totally honest about how we feel. Fortunately, I think we’re doing fairly well in that department so far. 

So I don’t know when I’m going to see him again, hopefully it’ll be within the next month though. But for the time being, we’ll be enjoying each other’s company via screens. It is definitely not the same as being together in person, of course, but it’s better than nothing!

Leave a Reply

