Light At The End Of The Tunnel

I can’t believe it, but next Monday marks two months since J shipped off to basic! These two months seemed to just fly by. Graduation is on Friday, and I am so happy that I will be able to be there with him for this special day. I won’t be able to actually attend the ceremony in person because he only gets 4 tickets and his family is going, but I will be watching it live at the hotel. Afterwards, he will be on liberty and we’ll all be able to spend some time together throughout the weekend. It is not much, but at this point, I will take anything I can get!

Through his letters, J said that basic sucked. I know he was sick for quite some time, but thankfully has recovered since. As he described in his letter 6 weeks ago, basic is a lot like prison, with a huge light at the end of the tunnel, and now he’s almost there.

I wasn’t planning on going to his graduation until 3 weeks ago. Originally, I wanted it to be a surprise; I wasn’t going to tell him anything, but I forgot to mention that to his parents, and his dad told him when he called. At first, I was a bit disappointed that he knew but now I’m so glad he knows I’m going because I’ve been able to write him about my plans for the trip.

During these two months, I tried to write him everyday. Some days, writing to him made me feel better. Other days though, I felt worse. For about two weeks around Christmastime, I don’t know what hit me but I was not in good shape. I felt so empty; everything bothered me, yet at the same time, I didn’t care about anything. It was just a weird time for me. Of course, I tried my hardest to keep that to myself. No point in making it a big deal. Fortunately, that blew over quickly enough and I was able to move on. Thank God for that!

I spoke to him on Sunday for half an hour! That was definitely an unexpected blessing and I’m so grateful for it. Tomorrow, I leave for graduation. I’m leaving a few days early in case the weather decides to act up and delay all flights across the country. Not cool, dude, not cool. Also, this trip is made possible thanks to my big brother who works at an airport and was able to get his little sister a super decently priced round trip airline ticket! Yay for successful siblings!

Just 3 more days until I see him, and I cannot wait!

 

Leave a Reply

