A Typical End of the Year Post

2013 was a wonderful year for me: I learned so much about myself, I grew to love myself as I am, flaws, quirks and all…and best of all, I fell in love and learned the meaning of true love. I faced one of my biggest fears and let someone new into my life completely. And I am so glad I did. Throughout the year, there were a few things I learned about life, love and beauty that really made a difference for me, so I figured now is the best time to share my newfound knowledge with you all.

Life:
When you feel like things can’t get any worse in your life, think about all the good that has happened recently in your life. It can’t all be as bad as you think. If it is, maybe it is time to find a way to change that.

• Family: though they can drive you crazy and it may seem like they just don’t care or understand, your family loves you and wants what is best for you, especially when they tell you things you really don’t want to hear.

• On that note, your family isn’t just those directly related to you by blood. Your family is your group of friends, those you can trust with your life and you know will have youf back, no matter what.

• If you want something, go get it now. Don’t expect hand-outs. Life just doesn’t work that way.

Love

• Before you can be loved by someone, you have to love yourself. If you only see your flaws and mistakes, how can you expect someone to see and fall in love with your good and besutifyl qualities. It might take some time before you love yourself, but focus on that first. Become the version of yourself that you can love. When time is right, someone will fall in love with you, warts and all.

• Loving someone can be a terrifying thing. Being loved back is even more terrifying, but when that love is real and true, it is the best feeling in the world.

• Though it is beautiful, being in love can require sacrifice. Being apart from J is not easy, especially during Christmas since that is our holiday but we make it work. It sucks most of the time, but it could be a lot worse. We are confident in our love, and we trust eachother. I think that is the key to surviving a long distance relationship: trust.

Beauty

For the first two years of college, I wore makeup everyday. I wouldn’t always wear eyeshadow, but I had to have foundation, eyeliner and mascara on before I stepped outside. If I ever went out sans makeup, I felt like everyone was seeing my pale, acne-prone face under a microscope. It was awful. Thankfully, that isn’t the case anymore at all. I’ve learned to embrace my natural face, and a few beauty tips along the way.

• I no longer wear foundation everyday, but I’ve discovered that tinted moisturizer or BB cream can be life savers. I use Garnier Fructis BB cream on my face everyday. I recommend this one to every girl I know. It provides a bit of color while also hydrating my skin. Win, win situation.

• Red lips are a classic. A great red with some mascara and you’ll feel like a 1950’s beauty queen.

• Not much is necessary to look and feel pretty. It is all about confidence. If you think you’re beautiful, that confidence will radiate and everyone will see your beauty as well.

• Mix two different shades of lipstick. You’ll have a new color lipstick without having to pay for it. Plus, it makes changing this up a lot easier and interesting!

• Not to sound clique or like a broken record, but drinking plenty of water throughut the day can go a long way. Staying hydrated will help your face stay zit-free or at least help reduce the appearance of those little suckers. Its also just important to stay hydrated for health reasons, ya know. 

These are just some things I learned this year. They may seem obvious, but you know what they say: experience is the greatest teacher. Okay, I don’t know if that’s a real thing but I’m making it a thing now! I’m looking forward to the new year. I know it probably won’t be all wonderful, but if life were great at all times, how would we be able to appreciate those extra special moments?

I hope everyone has a great New Year’s Eve. Tonight, I’m doing things out of the norm for me and putting on some glitter eyeshadow.  I hope you do, too!

Leave a Reply

