And so it begins

The wait is over. J has officially left for basic training in the Navy today. Saying goodbye wasn’t easy but somehow, I managed not to cry much! I was so worried that I would be a totally mess and would only make saying our goodbyes that much harder for us both but it wasn’t that bad. It was a bittersweet moment. We were both in good spirits and he even followed my bus for a few miles. Haha, that dork.

Our last 12 hours together were great. His mom made a Thanksgiving meal for him, since he’ll still be in basic during the holidays, of course. We watched a movie together and spent the rest of the time just talking in his favorite place, the woods behind his house. No fuss, no drama. It was unplanned and perfect.

There was also something different in J. It might’ve been because he was mentally preparing himself to leave, but he seemed to be counting on me a lot more for moral support. I know leaving home wasn’t easy for him, so I had to be strong and not make it any harder for him. I’m so glad I was able to keep it together!

People keep asking me how I’m holding up and if I’m okay, and I am really happy to say that I actually am okay. Of course I miss him already and the whole no-contact-except-by-letters will be difficult to deal with but I know it won’t be unbearable or impossible. I think it’ll be sweet to have those letters in hand, as as something to look back to in the future.

He’s doing what he’s always dreamed of doing and I’m working on my goals as well. We’re apart but I’m not worried. Maybe I’m a little nervous about the unexpected things the next few months hold but not worried.

I’m happy, confident and totally in love.

Leave a Reply

