Shopaholics Anonymous

About a year ago, I wrote about my makeup shopping habits. Since then, I have done well enough with budgeting the amount of money spent on makeup. Up until June anyway, when I splurged a bit on beauty products for my sister’s wedding. However, I have noticed that I have a certain way of dealing with my stress. Most people, when stressed, tend to eat more or drink more than usual. Not me, though. When stressed, I shop too much. Like binge shop. Like an addiction. All of the things I buy are things that I will use, and I always get free shipping and/or a coupon but still, it all adds up on the credit card. Of course, I didn’t realize just how much I was spending on clothes and shoes until last week when I got my credit card statement. Let’s just say, it was a lot more than usual.

In order to cure my addiction to shopping, I came up with a plan. Before I buy anything, (clothes, shoes, jewelry), I have to tell my boyfriend about it and he has to tell me that I can’t. This may sound weird, but believe it or not, it’s already working! Sure, I have been super tempted by sales and coupons during these past three days but just knowing that I have to ask him first has kicked that temptation to the curb.

So far, I’m really proud of myself, even though its only been three days. But in my book, its called progress, people! I plan to do this for the next two months that he’s here, before he ships off to basic. I don’t know if I’ll be able to last that long, but I’m really hoping I can. The savings will be huge, and maybe I’ll be able to do something great with it in a few months! Also, I know my bank account and wallet will appreciate the extra cash. 

Leave a Reply

