My slightly scary 9/11/13 moment

September 11th will always be a very tense day for New Yorkers, and for people everywhere, I’m sure. Every year, the air is just filled with gloom as we remember our brothers and sisters who were lost on that fatal September morning. Yesterday was almost no different from the other years. Except it was for me.

After work, I was on my way to the Crumbs bakery on Lexington Avenue to get a cupcake for my mom (it was her birthday!) As I was passing a building, a weird, black ball-like object fell from the building onto the street, bouncing once and making a loud noise. It was just a few feet away from me. I froze. There was a man next to me and he jumped back. Other people who were walking and standing by the building stopped and stared at the street. It got really quiet. After a second, I bolted out of there. I walked away so fast, I didn’t even have time to turn back and see what everyone else was doing. 

 I told my mom what happened and she said someone in the building probably threw it from a window. Honestly, I know it wasn’t even that serious, but I was really shaken up for the rest of the journey home. Like I said, everyone was already on edge because of the day, so that little thing falling from the sky was not helpful to our already frail state as city dwellers.

This little event made me realize that we really don’t know when anything can happen. If I had been walking just 3 seconds faster, that object would’ve fallen right on my head. I just wanted to get a cupcake for my mother!!!

Every new day is a blessing, no matter how difficult it is to get through. We are so fortunate to be alive. That’s something we must remember everyday, especially as we honor the lives of those who have gone before us.

Leave a Reply

