‘Til November Bucket List

In November, my boyfriend (I will refer to him as J from here on out) will be shipping off to basic training in the NAVY. With less than 3 months left, we’ve decided to put together a bucket list of all the things we would like to do together before he leaves.

My ideas

1) Drive up to Albany and spend a day there

I’ve been to there before, many times actually, but J and I have never been there together. There really isn’t much in Albany, but there is a beautiful park right across the street from my favorite museum, The New York State Museum, so I’m thinking a visit to the museum and a picnic at the park. (I don’t know why I love this museum so much, but I just do!)

2) Watch a movie at a drive-in theater

I’ve never done this before. As a city kid, a drive-in theater seemed to be a crazy thing that probably only still existed in no-name towns in some southern or western state. In fact, I didn’t even know there were any theaters like this in New York until a few weeks ago when I was driving with my sister to our house upstate. It is just 10 minutes away from that house, so I’d definitely like to go with J before the weather gets too cold.

3) Oktoberfest in New York!

I went to Oktoberfest when I lived in Michigan, but I’ve never been in New York. Since Fall is our favorite season, I think it’d be an awesome event for us to do together in our home state, especially since we have no idea when J will be in New York during the fall again.

J’s Ideas

1) Visit the Intrepid Museum

He’s never been there before, and I think I might have gone on a school trip in elementary school, but my recollection of it is very vague.

2)Go to a Yankees game

Lucky for him, I got him two tickets to a game for his birthday yesterday!

3) 24, the TV show

We just started watching it last weekend and he insists we finish watching it together before he leaves. Kinda weird, but it’s what he wants!

These are just some things we’ve thought of but with his ship date getting closer and closer, there seems like there are so many things to do, yet so little time left. Hopefully we’ll be able to do all these things and more, that way we can add a few more special memories to our scrapbook.

Leave a Reply

