Can I just be a Toys ‘r Us kid?

Staying up late. Eating whatever I want. Doing whatever I want. Freedom. As a kid, those were some of the things I looked forward to. I couldn’t wait to grow up and be an “adult”. It seemed like the coolest thing in the world.

Like most kids with dreams similar to mine, I soon discovered that being an adult is not all I thought it would be. There are bills to be paid (on time!), food to be purchased, and people to be pleased. As a kid, you want to please your parents and make sure they’re always proud of you. However, as an adult, not only do you still strive to make your parents proud (usually), but now you have a boss telling you what to do, and how to do it, and if you want to keep your job, you have to make sure you do it right.

Being an adult is a lot of responsibility. There’s a lot of pressure. It’s like a full time job that you get without having to apply for it, and try as you might to quit this job, you can’t. It’s all part of the circle of life.

It wasn’t until last night that I really wished I could go back to the days when I would fall asleep on the couch and somehow, magically wake up in my bed. I am currently in the middle of preparing for a major event that will be happening in 2 days. These preparations require late, last minute trips to Whole Foods to make sure I have all the necessary ingredients. I also had to run to Bed Bath & Beyond to buy wine glasses because apparently not everyone drinks their wine out of red solo cups.

Maybe it’s because I am so nervous about the event that I’m overreacting, but there’s just so much to prepare and it’s made me think. This is what adult life is like, except 10 times more difficult. Sure, some would say I can barely consider myself an adult because I’m so young and inexperienced, and that’s true. I know I still have a lot to learn, but I also know that life is a roller coaster that I am being forced to get on, whether I want to or not, and I guess that’s helping me look forward to what the future holds for me.

So with that in mind, I raise my new, fancy wine glass to every one out there, thinking about how great it would be to be a kid again. There’s no time to look back now, only forward. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

