I will never forget 9/11/2001

I was in the 4th grade. My teacher was in the middle of teaching when someone knocked on the classroom door and told her to go to the office. When she came back, she was in tears. She had received a phone call saying that something had happened not too far away from the Empire State Building, where her husband worked. She didn’t know all the details but soon after that, parents started picking up their kids and taking them home. My aunt picked me up and on the walk back home to my apartment (in Brooklyn), I could see smoke filling the sky in the direction of Manhattan. It was so scary. My uncle worked on the 11th floor of the north tower, but fortunately he did not go in to work that day. I don’t remember what happened after I got home, but I do remember that everyone was terrified and no one knew what to expect. Days went by. The number of deaths and missing people continued increasing. This day changed NYC forever. I believe it brought New Yorkers closer. Everyone suffered from this tragedy, some much more than others of course. Eleven years have gone by, yet it feels like it was just yesterday. I continue to pray for everyone who lost someone they loved on that day, and for all the heroes who sacrificed their lives. Gone, but never forgotten.

True Superheroes
Leave a Reply

