Summer!

Today is the first day of summer! As if the weather in NYC for the past two days isn’t obvious enough, the season of bonfires, water parks and ice cream is officially upon us! Personally, I love summer. Its not necessarily my favorite season (Fall will forever have my heart), but I do enjoy and I can’t imagine living in a place where summer doesn’t exist (yes Alaska, I’m talking to you!) Like everything in life, there are good things about summer and there are bad. One of the good things is that summer is the time when there’s no school (unless you’re unfortunate enough to have summer school of course) and there’s more chances of hanging out and doing nothing. I can think of two major bad things about summer though. One- since its so hot, unless you’re in an air conditioned place at all times, everyone is super cranky! Its actually kind of scary how heated some people get…okay, fine yes I’m talking about myself here. And thing number two- once again because of the heat, most people decide clothes are not necessary. I mean okay, I get it, its hot and you don’t want to have to deal with the extra layers of clothing making you even hotter. But what needs to be understood is that sometimes, the more you expose your skin to direct sunlight, the hotter you are going to be (in a temperature kind of way obviously). That’s why throughout the summer, I live in long maxi skirts and dresses. That way, I don’t have to worry about my clothes getting me too hot without throwing my dignity of the window by wearing half my birthday suit for the whole world to see. Its a win-win situation. So this summer, as your ice cream melts down your hand and the great spot you found at the beach is suddenly overcrowded with 5 year olds building sandcastles, try not to let the heat get the bes tof you. And remember, everyone is hot- you’re not the only one! I would mention that hell is hotter, but that would seem a bit cynical, wouldn’t it? Oh what the heck, hell is hotter! You’ll survive! And before you know it, fall and winter will be here with its piles of snow and below zero weather and that’s when you’ll be wishing for summer all over again. So enjoy it while its here! And that is my wrinkle of the day! Happy summer!

Leave a Reply

