Job Hatred

Today is monday (as if you didn’t already know that), also known as the day that everyone hates everything: getting up early, going to work/school, any responsibility; basically people hate having a life on mondays. So the wrinkle I got today is not very surprising. Today I learned that it really is possible to hate your job. Sure, I’ve heard people say “OMG, I hate my job…blah, blah, blah”, but my experience with a librarian today really hit home. Some people really do hate their jobs, and this reflects in their performance. As I was trying to help Jacob (the 5 year old boy I babysit, who will be called one of “my kids” during this project) use a computer at the library when suddenly I heard one of the librarians yelling at a group of kids for doing I have no idea what. Her rant at the kids was followed by a very firm “I hate my job!”. She then stormed off to the staff lounge. I was shocked! I have never actually seen someone do that at their job. This realization hit me like lightening. It is truly possible to hate your job. And the reality of the situation is not pretty. Honestly, there are days when of course I don’t like my job and all I want to do is go home and sleep, but at the end of the day, I am very grateful for my job, and after today I will have a more appreciative attitude towards my kids and the opportunities that I have. And that is my wrinkle of the day! Good night!

One thought on “Job Hatred

  1. wonderful reflection and thought…its crazy we go through our days and we don’t stop to think about these little things that occur but I’m glad to read all these wrinkles in order to appreciate life more 🙂 Thanks and keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

